CONNECT with what’s happening around Metropolitan Community Church

Be sure to scroll the page for these headings:

  • MCC Christmas Concert
  • Next Two Weeks
  • Looking Ahead
  • Online Advent Series Opportunities
  • Noteworthy Items

The next issue of CONNECT on December 21st will look ahead to events in January. If your church has any virtual events open to any MCCer, please send the information to us in advance. We are especially interested in sharing one-time events and short series.  Thank you for helping CONNECT MCC!


OUR FIRST DENOMINATIONAL CHRISTMAS CONCERT!


Christmas Concert

Vocal soloists, praise teams, choirs, and instrumentalists from all over MCC will share Christmas hope and cheer through music! We invite and encourage you to share one of these concert times with your church community. Share the info on your website and social media. Get comfy in your home and enjoy this musical gift.

Each concert will air on the MCC YouTube page https://www.youtube.com/c/MetropolitanCommunityChurches at the times listed below.

Look for your region and time zone or pick another time that works best for you. Some of the times have been adjusted since first published, so please look carefully at your locale and time zone.

Concert 1 – (5 am EST/10 am GMT)
Sydney – local time 9 pm
Brisbane – local time 8 pm
Tokyo – local time 7 pm
Philippines – local time 6 pm

Concert 2 – (12 pm EST/5 pm GMT)
South Africa – local time 7 pm SAST
Europe – local time 6 pm CET
UK- local time 5 pm GMT

Concert 3 – (5 pm EST/10 pm GMT)
Brazil – local time 7 pm BST

Concert 4 – (8 pm EST/1 am next day GMT)
Eastern Canada & USA – local time 8 pm EST
Central Mexico & USA – local time 7 pm CST

Concert 5 – (10 pm EST/3 am next day GMT)
Western Mexico, Canada & USA – local time 8 pm MST
– local time 7 pm PST


NEXT TWO WEEKS



TUESDAY, December 8


Tea TimeTEA TIME
5pm EST (UTC-5) / GMT 10pm

Join with members of the Community Development Team.
Click here to join us.
https://zoom.us/j/248584328?pwd=NmRackdTN1luZ2kreHNISFJMWC9TZz09
Meeting ID: 248 584 328
Password: 469464


Sanctuary Online December 8

Sanctuary Online

www.sanctuaryonline.live 8pm EST (UTC-5) / 7pm CST / 1am GMT


“Mirrors of Privilege” Virtual Screening
Tuesday, December 8,
7 pm MTS / 9 EST / 2am GMT

Join Pike’s Peak MCC, Colorado Springs, Colorado, USA for a virtual viewing and discussion of the film “Mirrors of Privilege: Making Whiteness Visible.” “Mirrors of Privilege” is a remarkable and engaging film that explores stories from white men and women about their journeys in overcoming issues of unconscious bias and entitlement.

From Shakti Butler, director of “Cracking the Codes: The System of Inequity,” “Mirrors of Privilege” is a must-see for all people who are interested in justice, spiritual growth and community making. This film advances the argument that with transformative learning, a dialogue for learning, changing, healing, and undoing race-based oppression can begin. It features the experiences and stories of white women and men who are social justice advocates. They have worked to gain insight into what it means, as white people, to challenge notions of race, racism, culture and white identity development in the United States. Their shared reflections speak to the denial, defensiveness, guilt, fear and shame often related to these issues and show how these responses can be replaced with solid commitments towards racial justice.

Join Zoom Meeting at https://us02web.zoom.us/j/82292897294
Meeting ID: 822 9289 7294
Dial in for audio only: (346) 248-7799 or (669) 900-6833


WEDNESDAY, December 9



THURSDAY, December 10


Rev. Elder Cecilia Eggleston headshotPrayer Time with the Moderator
5pm EST / 10pm GMT

Rev. Elder Cecilia Eggleston will begin a series based on Joyce Rupp’s book “The Cup of Our Life.” You are asked to have a candle and a cup or mug with you for this study and prayer time starting Thursday, November 5th. Join her on Facebook at: https://www.facebook.com/cecilia.eggleston.50


ASL Christmas Song Class

Join SunCoast MCC (Florida, USA) and others for a second ASL Class. The first class was a huge success. We had participants from Pennsylvania, Maryland, Texas and Florida. During the upcoming class, we will be learning a Christmas Song. The class will meet at 6:00 PM EST (UTD-5).
Join Zoom Meeting
https://zoom.us/j/91726726707?pwd=REdYOGRsY1JGY2JrMWNuNFFkNW03QT09

FRIDAY, December 11



SATURDAY, December 12


Spiritual NourishmentSpiritual Nourishment
5pm EST (UTC-5) / GMT 10pm

Advent means “arrival” or “coming”—a period of time spent in waiting. Join Spiritual Nourishment on the MCC Council of Elders Facebook page to
explore this spiritual practice in a holy season of waiting. Elder Nancy Maxwell will explore the spiritual practice of waiting, as well as take prayer requests to the Council of Elders.


Community Without BordersSentieri – Gruppo Spirituale (Footpaths Spiritual Group)
December 12 – 9pm Italy time

Do you speak Italian? Would you like to connect with others who speak Italian in virtual space? This is NOT church. It is a place to talk, share and build friendships. It is being led by our MCC pastor in Italy.
Zoom link https://zoom.us/j/97708640687?pwd=UWRRK1dJOXA2aDQrWEtabnoyZlY4Zz09


Christmas ConcertSee all the times above in this post.


MONDAY, December 14



TUESDAY, December 15


Sanctuary Online Dec. 15

Sanctuary Online

www.sanctuaryonline.live 8pm EST (UTC-5) / 7pm CST / 1am GMT


WEDNESDAY, December 16



THURSDAY, December 17


Rev. Elder Cecilia Eggleston headshotPrayer Time with the Moderator
5pm EST / 10pm GMT

Rev. Elder Cecilia Eggleston will begin a series based on Joyce Rupp’s book “The Cup of Our Life.” You are asked to have a candle and a cup or mug with you for this study and prayer time starting Thursday, November 5th. Join her on Facebook at: https://www.facebook.com/cecilia.eggleston.50


ASL Christmas Song Class

Join SunCoast MCC (Florida, USA) and others for a second ASL Class. The first class was a huge success. We had participants from Pennsylvania, Maryland, Texas and Florida. During the upcoming class, we will be learning a Christmas Song. The class will meet at 6:00 PM EST (UTD-5).
Join Zoom Meeting
https://zoom.us/j/91726726707?pwd=REdYOGRsY1JGY2JrMWNuNFFkNW03QT09

FRIDAY, December 18


Community Without BordersFriday, December 18 at 7pm EST (UTC-5) / GMT 12am our Spanish speaking virtual gathering – “Sin Fronteras Comunidad Espiritual ICM (Without Borders Spiritual Community)”. If you speak Spanish and are looking to create and build relationships with others, you are invited to attend. ZOOM Link: https://zoom.us/j/97708640687?pwd=UWRRK1dJOXA2aDQrWEtabnoyZlY4Zz09.


SATURDAY, December 19


MCC Communities – Virtual Spiritual Communities

These are not worship services rather a space to share and be with others in this language. They are geared to people longing for community in their native language or not currently active in an MCC.

Saturday, December 19 at 11am EST (UTC-5) / GMT 4pm – our English speaking Virtual gathering – “Sharing the Journey MCC Spiritual Community”. If you speak English and are looking to create and build relationships with others, you are invited to attend. ZOOM Link: https://zoom.us/j/97708640687?pwd=UWRRK1dJOXA2aDQrWEtabnoyZlY4Zz09.

Saturday, December 19 at 9pm Italy Time / 3pm EST (UTC-5) /GMT 8pm – our Italian speaking Virtual gathering – “Sentieri – Gruppo Spirituale (Footpaths Spiritual Group)”. If you speak Italian and are looking to create and build relationships with others, you are invited to attend. ZOOM Link: https://zoom.us/j/97708640687?pwd=UWRRK1dJOXA2aDQrWEtabnoyZlY4Zz09.


SUNDAY, December 20


BLUE CHRISTMAS SERVICE
Sunday, December 20th – 5pm

MCC Knoxville, TN, USA and Mobilizing Love Ministries (USA)
For many people, Christmas is a difficult time as they grieve the absence of a loved one. December 21st is considered the Longest Night of the year for the northern hemisphere. A Blue Christmas or Longest Night Christmas speaks to the shadows of grief that may cover us. In a COVID world where so many have lost family and friends, we need this service even more. Perhaps you are grieving the loss of a job or a friendship or relationship or a loved one. Perhaps you are grieving the loss of human touch. Whatever grief is on your heart, this is a service that will acknowledge your grief and offer comfort, love and peace.
Join Zoom Meeting:
https://us02web.zoom.us/j/88458574524?pwd=aHdXc3lLaVcyTmJCc3BWZ1BZZ2JhZz09

Meeting ID: 884 5857 4524
Passcode: PEACE


LOOKING AHEAD


Tuesday, December 22nd – TEA TIME
5pm EST (UTC-5) / GMT 10pm

Join with members of the Community Development Team.
Click here to join us.
https://zoom.us/j/248584328?pwd=NmRackdTN1luZ2kreHNISFJMWC9TZz09
Meeting ID: 248 584 328
Password: 469464


MCC OFFICES HOLIDAY SCHEDULE

The MCC offices will be closed for the holidays December 24, 25, 28, 31 and January 1st. Many staff members have additional personal time scheduled around the holidays as well. Response time during these two weeks may be longer than usual.


SPECIAL VIRTUAL GENERAL CONFERENCE

Voting opens 26th January at 8am EST and closes 27th January 8am EST.
This is advanced notice of a specially called General Conference for the purpose of voting to affirm the appointment of people to the Council of Elders.


ONLINE ADVENT SERIES


Watch Wait Hope Advent JournalZoom Participatory Reflection sessions offered Monday-Friday

Monday, Wednesday and Friday: midnight GMT/7:00pm EST/1pm NZDT (next day)
Tuesday and Thursday: 6pm GMT/1:00 pm EST/7am NZDT (next day)
More times from New Zealand will be added to this schedule.

Thanks to MCC of Greater St. Louis (Missouri, USA, pastors Rev. Wes Mullins and Rev. Lauren Bennett), this Advent a number of churches from Florida to Auckland will come together to offer a Daily Advent Journal and Reflections. The Advent Journal, from the UK, will be used by many MCC members. It includes a daily scripture reading, reflection questions, and prayer guide to help cultivate a thoughtful Advent practice.

You do not need to have the Journal to participate in these reflection sessions. Please bring a Bible and a piece of paper. These times are intended to give you a space to commune with others from all over as we dream together of what might be waiting for us in an unpredictable, uncertain world.

Zoom Link: https://zoom.us/j/3143613221?pwd=UGZGNzdhRkNIOC9GczZLZ1E4NzRxZz09


“Do Not Be Afraid: Defeating Fear with Hope, Peace, Love, Joy and a Wholehearted Life”
Tuesdays, Dec. 1 – Dec. 22 at 7pm EST (UTC-5) / 12am GMT

Offered by SunCoast MCC, (Florida, USA)
The angel appearances in the Gospel Christmas stories have a consistent theme: “Do Not Be Afraid.” Through these four weeks of Advent, we will journey with Dr. Brené Brown, who is a social worker, researcher, and best-selling author. Dr. Brown’s work on vulnerability speaks to how we let fear–in many forms–affect our lives. Brené calls on us to live more fully into hope,
peace, joy, and love through practicing vulnerability. Classes will include scripture study, video presentations and discussion.

Join Zoom Meeting: https://us02web.zoom.us/j/86552532775
Meeting ID: 865 5253 2775


December Events

Join SanctuaryOnline for one or all four as we look forward with expectation!
We will learn how the great living religions teach and live Hope, Peace, Joy, and Love. We will share community time together lighting the Advent Wreath, exchanging holiday traditions, food, and stories, and we will enjoy special music related to the theme each week. This series is led by Rev. Elder Ken Martin. www.sanctuaryonline.live Password = Sanctuary


Yale Bible Study

Join the Rev. Dr. Allen Hilton four a free, online 4-week study this Advent exploring how the Gospels approach the nativity story:

  • December 7 — According to Luke: Small Child in a Big World
  • December 14 — According to John: Word Made Flesh
  • December 21 — Love Came Down — The YBS Christmas Episode
  • REGISTER HERE.

NOTEWORTHY ITEMS


Metropolitan Community Churches and ShopRaise

https://shopraise.com/app/#/?orgId=587533
Your shopping for the holidays or anytime can benefit MCC! ShopRaise works with charitable organizations to provide supporters a simple way to shop and benefit their cause.

  • Use the ShopRaise app to shop at home and on the go
  • You don’t pay more and can still use great coupons and deals
  • MCC Earns
  • Over 1,000 familiar retailers

Have you visited the new VISITOR website yet?

Have you shared it on your social media?

We're Seeking You

Click on the link below to visit a landing page designed exclusively for you. It is your unique starting point to explore the “We’re Seeking You!” website and it contains all the information and links you may need.

https://visitmccchurch.com/announcement/

Please join us in helping the world to hear these three simple, yet powerful, words from MCC….We’re Seeking You!


Christmas ResourcesAdvent and Christmas Resources

are now available for MCC Worship Teams, Pastors, Musicians and shared educational opportunities.
https://drive.google.com/drive/folders/1ZoSTdwu29GOTht1U3mE-ZQKXULr8Kz-M


OUR MAILING ADDRESS


Please share with your Treasurer and Clerk of the Board
2775 NW 49th Ave. Ste: 205-327
Ocala, FL 34482
USA