CONNECT with what’s happening around Metropolitan Community Church

CONNECT will be transitioning.

As announced last week, CONNECT is moving to every two weeks and then to once a month. There may be a few special editions from time-to-time! This weekly publication helped us CONNECT during those early months of COVID. Now it is time to create space for other types of communication.

There will be two issues during December – December 7 and 21. If your Church has any virtual events open to any MCCer, please send the information to us in advance. We are especially interested in sharing one-time events and short series.

Thank you for helping CONNECT MCC!


Be sure to scroll the page for these headings:

  • Don’t Miss These!
  • Online Advent Series
  • Next Two Weeks
  • Looking Ahead
  • Recurring Weekly Events
  • Noteworthy Items

DON’T MISS THESE!


DON’T WAIT UNTIL THE LAST MOMENT!

Clergy License Renewal Time
Early Bird Deadline December 1st

Go to the 2021 Clergy License page for detailed instructions and forms to submit. Instructions may differ by country. If you have questions, please contact [email protected]


Applications Now Being Accepted for Elder

The Council of Elders are nearing the end of their appointed terms. The notice of the process, responsibilities and criteria was sent out today. It is also available here. The deadline for applications is Friday, 4th December 2020. Please pray with us over this process and those who may be called to serve as Elder.


AIDS Memorial Quilt Virtual Display

In observance of World AIDS Day 2020, there is an opportunity for you to host the AIDS Memorial Quilt as a virtual experience. This first-ever virtual display of the AIDS Memorial Quilt will represent all fifty states and U.S. territories.

AIDSMemorial.org is excited to offer your organization a personalized virtual World AIDS Day Quilt display for $500. This display fee includes a custom display, including eight Quilt block images showcasing the Quilt panels and names you select, a link to your website, and a 250-word narrative message to accompany your display.

The entire display will be promoted through national media outlets, and will drive additional traffic to the site throughout World AIDS Day, December 1, 2020. Your Quilt display will be seen by a large national audience, and a link on your display will drive traffic to your webpage. If you would like to host an AIDS Memorial Quilt Virtual Display, please contact Brian Holman at [email protected] or 678.595.7906. For more information and to see a sample display, go to www.aidsmemorial.org/virtual2020.


ONLINE ADVENT SERIES


Watch Wait Hope Advent JournalZoom Participatory Reflection sessions offered Monday-Friday

Monday, Wednesday and Friday: midnight GMT/7:00pm EST/1pm NZDT (next day)
Tuesday and Thursday: 6pm GMT/1:00 pm EST/7am NZDT (next day)
More times from New Zealand will be added to this schedule.

Thanks to MCC of Greater St. Louis (Missouri, USA, pastors Rev. Wes Mullins and Rev. Lauren Bennett), this Advent a number of churches from Florida to Auckland will come together to offer a Daily Advent Journal and Reflections. The Advent Journal, from the UK, will be used by many MCC members. It includes a daily scripture reading, reflection questions, and prayer guide to help cultivate a thoughtful Advent practice.

You do not need to have the Journal to participate in these reflection sessions. Please bring a Bible and a piece of paper. These times are intended to give you a space to commune with others from all over as we dream together of what might be waiting for us in an unpredictable, uncertain world.

Zoom Link: https://zoom.us/j/3143613221?pwd=UGZGNzdhRkNIOC9GczZLZ1E4NzRxZz09


“Do Not Be Afraid: Defeating Fear with Hope, Peace, Love, Joy and a Wholehearted Life”
Tuesdays, Dec. 1 – Dec. 22 at 7pm EST (UTC-5) / 12am GMT

Offered by SunCoast MCC, (Florida, USA)
The angel appearances in the Gospel Christmas stories have a consistent theme: “Do Not Be Afraid.” Through these four weeks of Advent, we will journey with Dr. Brené Brown, who is a social worker, researcher, and best-selling author. Dr. Brown’s work on vulnerability speaks to how we let fear–in many forms–affect our lives. Brené calls on us to live more fully into hope,
peace, joy, and love through practicing vulnerability. Classes will include scripture study, video presentations and discussion.

Join Zoom Meeting: https://us02web.zoom.us/j/86552532775
Meeting ID: 865 5253 2775


December Events

Join SanctuaryOnline for one or all four as we look forward with expectation!
We will learn how the great living religions teach and live Hope, Peace, Joy, and Love. We will share community time together lighting the Advent Wreath, exchanging holiday traditions, food, and stories, and we will enjoy special music related to the theme each week. This series is led by Rev. Elder Ken Martin. www.sanctuaryonline.live Password = Sanctuary


Yale Bible Study

Join the Rev. Dr. Allen Hilton four a free, online 4-week study this Advent exploring how the Gospels approach the nativity story:

  • November 30 — According to Matthew: Joseph’s Dilemma, Magi’s Gifts, and Herod’s Inhumanity
  • December 7 — According to Luke: Small Child in a Big World
  • December 14 — According to John: Word Made Flesh
  • December 21 — Love Came Down — The YBS Christmas EpisodeREGISTER HERE.

NEXT TWO WEEKS



MONDAY, November 23


Interfaith Service sponsored by the Poor People’s Campaign (USA)
vote.poorpeoplescampaign.org Live online.

USA Poor People's Campaign


TUESDAY, November 24


Tea TimeTEA TIME
5pm EST (UTC-5) / GMT 10pm

Join with members of the Community Development Team
Click here to join us https://zoom.us/j/248584328
Meeting ID: 248 584 328


Sanctuary Online

www.sanctuaryonline.live 8pm EST (UTC-5) / 7pm CST / 1am GMT

Book Club WeekAll the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr


WEDNESDAY, November 25


Oceania & South East Asia – Online Prayer Meeting
Wednesday 25th November – 3:30pm Singapore, Manila / 6:30pm AEST (Melb/Syd/Bris) / 8:30pm NZST / UTC 7:30am / 2:30am EST

A time of united prayer for churches around South East Asia, Australia, Aotearoa and the Pacific
Especially focusing on:
  • God’s provision for the needs of the world, our nations, for justice, peace, health and safety — every social, environmental and economic need to be met!
  • The needs of churches — so they can thrive, and be communities that live the gospel.
  • Blessing and breakthrough in specific areas of needs on your heart.
Zoom link: https://us02web.zoom.us/j/83921625532
Meeting ID: 839 2162 5532 Passcode: Spirit

THURSDAY, November 26


Happy Thanksgiving to our USA Churches and Members!

While Thanksgiving is usually a great time of feasting with family and friends, this year COVID has cancelled many gatherings. This year invites us to focus on what we are truly thankful for rather than the food and festivities. Most were taught a view of that first Thanksgiving that reflects colonization and racism. Take time this year to consider the roots of this holiday. Learn more about history and how the myths are perpetuated in ways harmful to First Nations Peoples. Here is an article from the Smithsonian to start with: https://www.smithsonianmag.com/history/thanksgiving-myth-and-what-we-should-be-teaching-kids-180973655/


FRIDAY, November 20


WORLD AIDS DAY RESOURCE AVAILABLE

 

This year, we are proud to announce that MCC is taking part in the HIV & AIDS Faith Coalition’s International World AIDS Day Service. The service is scheduled to be available online on Thursday, 26 November for churches to access and will feature reflections, readings and prayers from various world religions.

We are so proud that Rev. Elder Cecilia Eggleston has been invited to give remarks representing Christianity.

We encourage MCC’s to use this resource as their World AIDS Day service or to share with congregations on their own time. We will share the link on our Social Media pages when it becomes available.


SATURDAY, November 28


Spiritual NourishmentSpiritual Nourishment
5pm EST (UTC-5) / GMT 10pm

Elder Nancy Maxwell will explore the spiritual practice of self care, as well as take prayer requests to the Council of Elders. Self care is an important spiritual practice–if we don’t take care of ourselves, then we run the risk of becoming drained, ineffectual, and eventually burned out. Caring for ourselves allows us to create a healthy environment for others in our circles of relationship.


Community Without BordersSentieri – Gruppo Spirituale (Footpaths Spiritual Group)
November 28 – 9pm Italy time

Do you speak Italian? Would you like to connect with others who speak Italian in virtual space? This is NOT church. It is a place to talk, share and build friendships. It is being led by our MCC pastor in Italy.
Zoom link https://zoom.us/j/97708640687?pwd=UWRRK1dJOXA2aDQrWEtabnoyZlY4Zz09


MONDAY, November 30


Form a team or enter as an individual in this fun virtual pub quiz benefitting the UK’s National AIDS Trust. For more information, https://www.eventbrite.co.uk/e/the-big-world-aids-day-quiz-2020-tickets-128226594195


TUESDAY, December 1


World AIDS Day 2020 — A National Conversation (USA)
Tuesday, December 1 at 10:00 AM PST/ 1PM EST / 6pm GMT

“World AIDS Day 2020 — A National Conversation” will focus on the interconnectedness of the AIDS and COVID-19 pandemics: the lives lost, the survivors, and the heroes. Through distinguished guest speakers, storytelling, and musical tributes, the broadcast will explore how a nation responds to pandemics, how it confronts, heals, and gleans lessons for the future. This broadcast brings together powerful voices for an inspiring discussion about health justice, activism, remembrance, hope, and resilience. No registration is required. To view the live feed. simply go to www.aidsmemorial.org.


World AIDS Day Interfaith Service with Rev. Elder Cecilia Eggleston speaking to represent Christianity shared on MCC’s social media.


THURSDAY, December 3


ASL Christmas Song Class

Join SunCoast MCC (Florida, USA) and others for a second ASL Class. The first class was a huge success. We had participants from Pennsylvania, Maryland, Texas and Florida. During the upcoming class, we will be learning a Christmas Song. The class will meet at 6:00 PM EST (UTD-5) on the following dates: Dec. 3, Dec. 10, and Dec. 17
Join Zoom Meeting
https://zoom.us/j/91726726707?pwd=REdYOGRsY1JGY2JrMWNuNFFkNW03QT09


SUNDAY, December 6


“Chat and Chew: The Heart of LGBTQ+ People.”

MCC Baltimore (Maryland, USA) has launched a series of monthly conversations with the community held on the first Sunday of the month via Facebook (https://www.facebook.com/mcc.baltimore).
Our next Chat and Chew will be on Sunday, December 6th at 12pm EST (UTC-5) featuring Steven Dashiell, Ph.D. The topic will be “Male Gender Roles and Masculinity.”


LOOKING AHEAD


“Mirrors of Privilege” Virtual Screening
Tuesday, December 8,
7 pm MTS / 9 EST / 2am GMT

Join Pike’s Peak MCC, Colorado Springs, Colorado, USA for a virtual viewing and discussion of the film “Mirrors of Privilege: Making Whiteness Visible.” “Mirrors of Privilege” is a remarkable and engaging film that explores stories from white men and women about their journeys in overcoming issues of unconscious bias and entitlement.

From Shakti Butler, director of “Cracking the Codes: The System of Inequity,” “Mirrors of Privilege” is a must-see for all people who are interested in justice, spiritual growth and community making. This film advances the argument that with transformative learning, a dialogue for learning, changing, healing, and undoing race-based oppression can begin. It features the experiences and stories of white women and men who are social justice advocates. They have worked to gain insight into what it means, as white people, to challenge notions of race, racism, culture and white identity development in the United States. Their shared reflections speak to the denial, defensiveness, guilt, fear and shame often related to these issues and show how these responses can be replaced with solid commitments towards racial justice.

Join Zoom Meeting at https://us02web.zoom.us/j/82292897294
Meeting ID: 822 9289 7294
Dial in for audio only: (346) 248-7799 or (669) 900-6833


Christmas Hope Concert

Musicians from around MCC will share hope and joy with the sounds of the season. Hear many of the people who have blessed us at General Conferences as well as folk who may be new to you. The Concert will be broadcast on the denomination’s YouTube Channel at 7pm local time in each of these time zones.

Australasia – 7pm AEDT (3:00 AM EST) 8am GMT
Philippines/Asia – 7pm PST (6:00 AM EST)11am GMT
Africa – local time 7pm SAST (12:00 PM EST) 5pm GMT
Europe – local time 7pm CET (1:00 PM EST) 6pm GMT
Brazil – local time 7PM BST (5:00 PM EST) 10pm GMT
Central time zone – 7:00 PM (8:00 PM EST) 1am next day GMT
Pacific time zone – 7:00 PM (10:00 PM EST) 3am next day GMT


MCC Communities – Virtual Spiritual Communities

These are not worship services rather a space to share and be with others in this language. They are geared to people longing for community in their native language or not currently active in an MCC.

Friday, December 18 at 7pm EST (UTC-5) / GMT 12am our Spanish speaking virtual gathering – “Sin Fronteras Comunidad Espiritual ICM (Without Borders Spiritual Community)”. If you speak Spanish and are looking to create and build relationships with others, you are invited to attend. ZOOM Link: https://zoom.us/j/97708640687?pwd=UWRRK1dJOXA2aDQrWEtabnoyZlY4Zz09.

Saturday, December 19 at 11am EST (UTC-5) / GMT 4pm – our English speaking Virtual gathering – “Sharing the Journey MCC Spiritual Community”. If you speak English and are looking to create and build relationships with others, you are invited to attend. ZOOM Link: https://zoom.us/j/97708640687?pwd=UWRRK1dJOXA2aDQrWEtabnoyZlY4Zz09.

Saturday, December 19 at 9pm Italy Time / 3pm EST (UTC-5) /GMT 8pm – our Italian speaking Virtual gathering – “Sentieri – Gruppo Spirituale (Footpaths Spiritual Group)”. If you speak Italian and are looking to create and build relationships with others, you are invited to attend. ZOOM Link: https://zoom.us/j/97708640687?pwd=UWRRK1dJOXA2aDQrWEtabnoyZlY4Zz09.


RECURRING WEEKLY EVENTS


MONDAYS


Christians & Cocktails – 6pm EDT / 10pm GMT

Rev. Dr. Durrell Watkins & panel go deep, but with humor and holy irreverence, into every theological question you can think of, and you even get to chime in!
Facebook.com/SunshineCathedral (Florida, USA)


MCC Richmond’s Centering Community (Richmond, Virginia, USA)
Mondays @ 10pm GMT / 6pm EDT (UTC-4)

A time of shared meditation and mindfulness practice open to all. No previous experience necessary. Come just as you are!
Zoom Meeting: https://us04web.zoom.us/j/7891407100?pwd=Z0p1NGIrNnNHOGtWL1I3V0xMZDBQdz09.
Meeting ID: 789 140 7100 Password: 953527


TUESDAYS


Prayer Service – 6.15 pm GMT / 2:15pm EDT

Praying for the needs of our Community and our World with Inclusive Community Church, Bournemouth, England.
Join us on Zoom – Meeting ID: 795 3355 1910 – Password: 294574


WEDNESDAYS


Share in the Chair 6pm EST / 11pm GMT

Rev. Dr. Durrell Watkins of Sunshine Cathedral (Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA) interviews a different religious leader each week on Facebook.com/SunshineCathedral


Address The Mess Joy MCCAddress the Mess Spiritual Transformation
Wednesdays at 7pm EST / 12 GMT / UTC-05)

It’s a common misperception that the Christian life is all about avoiding messes and staying out of trouble. But it turns out that your messes and the messy people you meet along the way may actually be your greatest opportunity to know God. In this 4-session DVD study, Andy reminds us that following Jesus isn’t about avoiding something; it’s about becoming something. Joy MCC, Orlando, Florida, USA.
ZOOM LINK: https://zoom.us/j/812716810#success


Teach It, Then Preach It
series with MCC Baltimore (Maryland, USA)

“Bread of Life: Spiritual Feeding Through the Parables.” The Bible Study on the parable will be on Wednesdays at 7:30pm EST (UTC-4),

then the sermon on the parable will be shared on the following Sunday during our Worship Encounter at 10am EST (UTC-4).

Both will be available on our Facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/mcc.baltimore


THURSDAYS


Midday Worship Noon EDT / 4pm GMT

Rotating clergy from Sunshine Cathedral (fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA) lead this midday worship experience with prayer, scripture and homily.

Click Here


Rev. Elder Cecilia Eggleston headshotPrayer Time with the Moderator
5pm EST / 10pm GMT

Rev. Elder Cecilia Eggleston will begin a series based on Joyce Rupp’s book “The Cup of Our Life.” You are asked to have a candle and a cup or mug with you for this study and prayer time starting Thursday, November 5th. Join her on Facebook at: https://www.facebook.com/cecilia.eggleston.50


A COURSE IN MIRACLES

via Zoom – Thursdays at 6:30pm EST / 11:30pm GMT Contact Rev. Margarita Rodriguez at [email protected] (Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA)


The Unveiling, a study of the Book of Revelation

Thursday evenings at 7:00PM EST/ 12AM GMT via Zoom. The study is facilitated by Pastor Dexter Brecht and Terry White from Imago Dei MCC (USA) For more information and the links to join, please email [email protected]


Bilingual Praise ServiceBILINGUAL PRAISE SERVICE 
7:00pm EST (UTC-5) / 12am GMT

This service is in Spanish and English. Join Rev. Stanley from Joy MCC, Orlando, Florida, USA for Alabanza via Zoom
https://zoom.us/j/827025531#success


SATURDAYS


Taize Meditation Prayer – 10am MDT/ noon EST / 5pm GMT

Pike’s Peak MCC (Colorado Springs, Colorado, USA) invites you to join Greg & Candy Mulkey (friends of the congregation) for 30 minutes of simple chant-like meditative/prayer songs from the monastic community in Taizé, France.
On Facebook Live at: https://www.facebook.com/taizecommonunion


NOTEWORTHY ITEMS


Metropolitan Community Churches and ShopRaise

https://shopraise.com/app/#/?orgId=587533
Your shopping for the holidays or anytime can benefit MCC! ShopRaise works with charitable organizations to provide supporters a simple way to shop and benefit their cause.

  • Use the ShopRaise app to shop at home and on the go
  • You don’t pay more and can still use great coupons and deals
  • MCC Earns
  • Over 1,000 familiar retailers

Have you visited the new VISITOR website yet?

Have you shared it on your social media?

We're Seeking You

Click on the link below to visit a landing page designed exclusively for you. It is your unique starting point to explore the “We’re Seeking You!” website and it contains all the information and links you may need.

https://visitmccchurch.com/announcement/

Please join us in helping the world to hear these three simple, yet powerful, words from MCC….We’re Seeking You!


Christmas ResourcesAdvent and Christmas Resources

are now available for MCC Worship Teams, Pastors, Musicians and shared educational opportunities.
https://drive.google.com/drive/folders/1ZoSTdwu29GOTht1U3mE-ZQKXULr8Kz-M


OUR MAILING ADDRESS


Please share with your Treasurer and Clerk of the Board
2775 NW 49th Ave. Ste: 205-327
Ocala, FL 34482
USA