CONNECT with what’s happening around Metropolitan Community Church

people holding hands


HIGHLIGHTED EVENTS


JUNE IS PRIDE MONTH in the USA

Cecilia Eggleston at PrideIf you have virtual PRIDE events happening later in June, please let us know to be included in the next CONNECT.

Many MCC pastors tire of teaching Homosexuality and the Bible classes. Yet we know it remains needed. Those just coming out, their families and friends plus other new allies need to hear a progressive, liberating perspective. The Bible continues to be used as a tool of oppression which impacts public policy, community attitudes and individual lives. Whether one is a Christian or not, it is important to understand what these texts say and do not say. PRIDE is also a great time to promote understandings of sexuality and spirituality.

Good news! Here are virtual events you can share. Invite those who are new to your church to come to some of these sessions.

SunCoast MCC (Florida, USA) and Rev. Elder Dr. Nancy Wilson
June 15th – 6pm EDT / 10pm GMT:  
“What Does the Bible Really Have to Say About Homosexuality, LGBTQ people, and Why Have We Been Told It Is So Negative?”
Come and share some reflections on this mystery.

June 22nd – 6pm EDT / 10pm GMT: “Are All the People in the Bible Heterosexual and Cis-Gendered? Has There Been a Cover Up?”
Let’s explore this mystery with open minds and hearts!

Here’s the link for the two sessions listed above:
Join Zoom Meeting
https://zoom.us/j/93740398560?pwd=U1MzRG1kUXZvQ3habWQ3eXFHemNkdz09
Meeting ID: 937 4039 8560 Passcode: 505376

Homosexuality and the Bible – a 3-part series.
MCC Knoxville (Tennessee, USA) and Rev. Colleen Darraugh
Wednesdays, June 9, 16 & 23 – 6pm EDT / 10pm GMT
This series will take us through the traditional clobber passages as well as some positive texts. It will be interactive and informative! Invite someone who has questions. Invite allies and parents of LGBTQ people. Invite those just coming out. Whether they are a Christian or not, misinterpretations and misunderstandings of the Bible impact oppressive politics and attitudes towards LGBTQ individuals and families. Hear a liberating perspective. Refresh your own understanding! Register in advance for this series:
https://us02web.zoom.us/meeting/register/tZApd-2qrzsjHtwjF0G2I92Vz9rQV3_48Qbi
After registering, you will receive a confirmation email containing information about joining the meeting.


QUEER YOUTH OF FAITH DAY June 30, 2021

#QYFDAY is the first multi-faith celebration of queer youth. This year’s #QYFDay will feature various programming throughout the day including podcasts, panels, and musical performances. The event is primarily sponsored and hosted by Beloved Arise, a nonprofit organization dedicated to celebrating and empowering LGBTQ+ youth of faith. MCC is a sponsor.
https://www.belovedarise.org/qyfday

As part of #QYFDay, Beloved Arise will promote their multi-faith album Serenade to be released on June 4, 2021. This is the first-ever album dedicated to queer youth of faith, and these songs serve as anthems for #QYFDay.

More than one in three LGBTQ+ youth identify with a religion. But sadly, these young believers are often pressured to choose between their faith and the freedom to live and love authentically. As part of PRIDE month, Beloved Arise dedicates June 30 to celebrate and support LGBTQ+ youth from all faith traditions — and we uphold the human right to believe, to belong, and to be loved.

We rise up and join our voices to say:
We see you. We celebrate you. We take pride in you.


Thursday, June 3rd


Virtual Pride Celebration Thursday, June 3rd

Zoom opens 7:20pm and we will begin at 7.30pm BST / 6:30pm GMT / 2:30pm EDT
https://us02web.zoom.us/j/3140057633?pwd=MmlkbWNKem5BZUZNTGZQZXp5TWdQUT09
Meeting ID: 314 005 7633
Passcode: 1861AUC

Come and celebrate with Our Tribe virtually – paint your face – wear bright colours – if you have a favourite photo from a Pride you attended, come ready to share it with us.

We are delighted also to have the Rev. Dr. Ana Ester with us who will share her experience of Pride in Brazil. Rev. Dr. Ana Ester is an ordained clergy of the Metropolitan Community Church of Belo Horizonte, Brazil. She is a member of the Global Interfaith Network Latin America and of the American Academy of Religion.

We will listen to music, hear stories and be in solidarity with our LGBTQI+ siblings throughout the world. Communion will be offered so remember to have juice and bread. All are welcome to share at the table.

Our Tribe is the LGBTQI+ ministry in Augustine United Church (Edinburgh, Scotland, UK). It is a joint ministry with the worldwide denomination of Metropolitan Community Churches. All LGBTQI+ folks are welcome – friends, family and allies.


Theology-on-Tap ONLINE

June 3rd, 2021
7:30pm ET / 6:30pm CT / 4:30pm PT / 11:30pm GMT

Join Milwaukee MCC (Wisconsin, USA) on the first Thursday of each month for Theology-on-Tap Online. Each month we gather for some fellowship and open discussion on topics from relationships to our theology and faith, as well as current events, and how they relate to us as Christians living in the world today.

Grab your favorite beverage and some snack type foods and join in for an evening of good discussion. Connect with us via Zoom at:
https://us02web.zoom.us/j/86055363676


Monday, June 7th


Online Gamer Gathering
Monday, June 7 @ 7pm EDT

Join at https://us02web.zoom.us/j/83518235131 Meeting ID: 835 1823 5131
MCC of the Lehigh Valley (Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA) will be hosting a Zoom Gamer Gathering to discuss the release of Mass Effect Remastered. All are warmly invited to attend to talk about their experience with Mass Effect Remastered or Mass Effect in general. You do not need to have any prior knowledge of Mass Effect to participate in the event.


Tuesday, June 8th


Transitioning in FaithTransitioning in Faith
Tuesday, June 8th
7:30pm EDT / 11:30pm GMT

Rev. Elder GoudyFacilitated by Rev. Elder Goudy, there will be a panel of transgender individuals discussing the opportunities and challenges they faced as they spoke their truth in their church, synagogue or faith community. This event is sponsored by the Pennsylvania Trans Equity Project. Register for the event at this link: https://us02web.zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_RllIkGTjR6mR8dZIbToX2w


Shelly KingSanctuaryOnline: Meet the Artist
Singer/Songwriter – Shelley King

Tuesday, June 8th
5pm Pacific / 6pm Mountain / 7pm Central / 8pm Eastern
Sanctuary’s Zoom Room:
 www.SanctuaryOnline.live

Shelley King is royalty in Texas and the first woman to be appointed Official State Musician of Texas by the legislature. In addition to being a multi-award winning singer-songwriter-bandleader, she is known for her soulful vocals and powerful performances…and for being a great friend of Sanctuary!

Shelley has performed at Sanctuary, and we look forward to a Zoom reunion on SanctuaryOnline.live, where we will hear from Shelley about her musical journey and what’s next for her! Check out Shelley’s music on her website: ShelleyKing.com


Saturday, June 12th


Orlando StrongPulse Nightclub – June 12, 2016

Today marks 5 years since 49 people were killed and 53 more wounded in the mass shooting at the Pulse Nightclub in Orlando, Florida, USA. Joy MCC (Orlando, Florida, USA) will be providing a prayerful presence from 2-5am during the time hate brought such violence. They will show that love wins.

We remember.


MCC Communities Logo

Sharing the Journey
English
MCC Virtual Community

Saturday, June 12
11am EDT / 10am CDT / 8am PDT / 3pm GMT

If you speak English and are looking to create and build relationships with
others, you are invited to attend. These gatherings offer you the freedom to talk about spiritual topics in a safe and sacred environment.

Email [email protected] for the ZOOM link.


Sunday, June 13th


Katie CassidyVirtual Memorial Service for Rev. Katie Cassidy

Sunday, June 13
2pm Pacific / 3pm Mountain / 4pm Central /
5pm Eastern
On Zoom
https://us02web.zoom.us/j/89470911175?pwd=VE1INVFqYkFSQklqT0pkSENPby9wZz09
Meeting ID: 894 7091 1175 Passcode: 028241


Tuesday, June 15th


Tea TimeTEA Time

with the
Community Development Team 5pm EDT / 9pm GMT

 

https://zoom.us/j/248584328?pwd=NmRackdTN1luZ2kreHNISFJMWC9TZz09#success

Meeting ID: 248 584 328
Password: 469464


Friday, June 18th / Saturday, June 19th


Asian/Pacific Islander Kinship Gathering

The Diversity, Inclusion and Laity Development Coordinators invite you to the API Kinship Gathering designed to facilitate connection, foster visibility and promote the diverse social and cultural groups within the denomination. Allies are encouraged to advocate the availability of this group. We look forward to meeting you and socially connecting.
Join Zoom Meeting: https://zoom.us/j/9636681482
Meeting ID: 963 668 1482
Find your local dial-in number: https://zoom.us/u/achjC8TEle

Friday, June 18th – 9pm EDT /6pm PDT
Saturday, June 19th – 1am GMT / 2am BST / 9am PHST / 11am AEST


Friday, June 25th


ChaplainsChaplain Connection

10am EDT / 2pm GMT

Questions? Contact Rev Cathy Alexander at [email protected].
Join Zoom Meeting
https://zoom.us/j/97515395940?pwd=czlLTFlSSDdpYTJkcmhZZ0RQS0EvUT09
Meeting ID: 975 1539 5940
Passcode: 890406


Monday, June 28th


ChaplainsChaplain Connection

5pm EDT / 9pm GMT

Questions? Contact Rev Cathy Alexander at [email protected]
Join Zoom Meeting
https://zoom.us/j/97515395940?pwd=czlLTFlSSDdpYTJkcmhZZ0RQS0EvUT09
Meeting ID: 975 1539 5940
Passcode: 890406


WEEKLY EVENTS


MONDAYS


CHRISTIANS & COCKTAILS
Every Monday at 6pm EDT / 10pm GMT

Live on Facebook.com/SunshineCathedral

Christians & Cocktails is a fun program that offers connection, religious education, and even pastoral care. A diverse panel discusses a seemingly endless array of religious and spiritual topics that are raised from panelists and viewers alike.

No question is off limits and you may hear viewpoints you’ve never heard or considered before. Rev. Durrell Watkins responds to the questions and then invites other panelists to share their insights. The conversation is rich, honest, courageous, sometimes irreverent, and always a lot of fun.


TUESDAYS


SanctuaryOnline Summer Schedule

 Second and Fourth Tuesdays at 8pm EDT / midnight GMT
June: 8th and 22nd
July : 13th and 27th
August: 10th and 24th
www.sanctuaryonline.live


THURSDAYS


Rev. Elder Cecilia Eggleston headshotPrayer Time with the Moderator

5:15pm EDT / 9:15pm GMT

EXCEPT June 10th

https://www.facebook.com/RevElderCeciliaEggleston

Join the Moderator for a time of reflection and prayer on Facebook Live.


Alabanza Joy MCCBilingual Praise Gathering

Thursdays at 7 pm EDT/11 pm GMT

hosted by Joy MCC, Orlando, Florida, USA

https://zoom.us/j/827025531#success


LOOKING AHEAD


ASL HandsAnnouncing a new Virtual Community!

Starting in October, we will be offering a virtual Sign Language gathering. These gatherings will meet for 1.5 hours at a time once a month. Space is limited for each gathering. If necessary, we may offer more than one gathering a month. Like the other language groups, this will be a place for those who are hearing impaired to gather to talk, freely, about sacred topics in a safe space. If interested, email Rev. Wanda Floyd at [email protected] to be added to the list of participants.


RESOURCES


Best Diverse Children’s Books with Transgender, Non-Binary and Gender Expansive Characters [in English]

https://assets2.hrc.org/welcoming-schools/documents/WS_Great_Diverse_Books_Transgender_Non-Binary_Children.pdf

MCC Resource Bank

Check out the growing number of Resources here: https://drive.google.com/drive/folders/1Dv3gtp1MVF1KFXFzqXeHn5pCrZKqLRyo?usp=sharing
This is a work in progress. If you have original worship resources or educational materials you are willing to contribute, please send them to [email protected].


SUPPORT MCC


Partners in Hope LogoBecome a monthly supporter of MCC with $5 or $10 or more. Have questions? Contact [email protected]

Ready to donate? https://www.mccchurch.org/partners-in-hope/


Metropolitan Community Churches and ShopRaise

https://shopraise.com/app/#/?orgId=587533
Your shopping for the holidays or anytime can benefit MCC! ShopRaise works with charitable organizations to provide supporters a simple way to shop and benefit their cause.

  • Use the ShopRaise app to shop at home and on the go
  • You don’t pay more and can still use great coupons and deals
  • MCC Earns
  • Over 1,000 familiar retailers

Please Share or LINK with our Website

We're Seeking You

Click on the link below to visit a landing page designed exclusively for you. It is your unique starting point to explore the “We’re Seeking You!” website and it contains all the information and links you may need.

https://visitmccchurch.com/announcement/

Please join us in helping the world to hear these three simple, yet powerful, words from MCC….We’re Seeking You!


OUR MAILING ADDRESS


Please share with your Treasurer and Clerk of the Board
2775 NW 49th Ave. Ste: 205-327
Ocala, FL 34482
USA