CONNECT with what’s happening around Metropolitan Community Church

people holding hands


HIGHLIGHTED EVENT


In-Person / Online / Hybrid / Broadcast / LivestreamDr. Tim Snyder Headshot

Using Design Thinking
to Develop Worship
in this New Era
Thursday, May 13 2021 on Zoom
2–4 pm EDT / 6–8 pm GMT

As considerations are being made by church leadership teams regarding in-person worship, take this opportunity to be in conversation with Dr. Tim Snyder about hybrid worship. Dr. Snyder will present and lead discussion on principles that shape meaningful digital worship and tackle the specific design challenges congregations are facing. Participants will learn how design thinking can help them to shape and develop their in-person/ digital/ hybrid worship challenges. There will also be space and time for specific Q&A and peer discussions around technical issues.

Presenter: Tim Snyder, PhD, is senior researcher at the Lewis Center for Church Leadership and visiting assistant professor of practical theology at Wesley Theological Seminary. He has written and presented frequently on the practice of faith in digital culture.

Please save the date. The Zoom link will be sent later and will be shared in the MCC Clergy plus the MCC Clergy and Lay Leaders Facebook groups.

This webinar is FREE and is encouraged for Worship Teams, Pastors, Pastoral Leaders, Digital Ministry Teams and those working on emerging into this new era after a long run of not being able to all gather in-person.


MAY


Resources for Asian Pacific Islander Heritage Month

are available here:
https://docs.google.com/document/d/18RFGaRpBtuZZNlc5jawVJrxSA1fibA8YwMUbqLHJNcM/edit?usp=sharing


PENTECOST SUNDAY RESOURCES


Worship and Music resources for Pentecost Sunday

may be found in our Resource Folder under Worship Liturgical Calendar / Pentecost Resources or with this direct link:

https://drive.google.com/drive/folders/17CTt4iru4jQkrg0PcYSMRZGimTTn6jZN?usp=sharing
Thank you Jeremiah Cummings for your contributions!


WEDNESDAY, May 5


Cinco de MayoHAPPY CINCO de MAYO

Learn more about this holiday here:
https://www.thereisadayforthat.com/holidays/various/cinco-de-mayo


THURSDAY, May 6


No Prayer Time with the Moderator today.

The Moderator is on leave.


National Day of Prayer USA

The 2021 theme is “Lord, pour out your Love, Life and Liberty.” MCC let your voice be heard before God and in the public square for love, life and liberty for ALL people!


Can Good Mental Health, Scripture, and LGBTQI+ all fit in the same sentence?
Thursday 6th May – 7.20/30 – 9pm BST / 2:30pm EDT

Sponsored by Our Tribe (Edinburgh, Scotland)
An evening to explore with Mike Holroyd and Fiona Bennett. To conclude our time together we will share communion which everyone is welcome to join in at home (please have bread and juice / wine available).
To join us, please click the following link:
https://us02web.zoom.us/j/3140057633?pwd=MmlkbWNKem5BZUZNTGZQZXp5TWdQUT09
Meeting ID: 314 005 7633 Passcode: 1861AUC


Theology-on-Tap ONLINE
May 6, 2021
7:30pm ET / 6:30pm CT / 4:30pm PT / 11:30pm GMT

Join Milwaukee MCC (Wisconsin, USA) on the first Thursday of each month for Theology-on-Tap Online. Each month we gather for some fellowship and open discussion on topics relationship to our theology and faith, as well as current events, and how they relate to us as Christians living in the world today.

Grab your favorite beverage and some snack type foods and join in for an evening of good discussion. Connect with us via Zoom at:
https://us02web.zoom.us/j/86055363676

 


SATURDAY, May 8


Sharing the JourneyMCC Communities Logo
English
MCC Virtual Community

11am EDT / 10am CDT / 8am PDT / 3pm GMT

If you speak English and are looking to create and build relationships with
others, you are invited to attend. These gatherings offer you the freedom to talk about spiritual topics in a safe and sacred environment.
May’s topic: Cultural Differences
Email [email protected] for the ZOOM link.


SUNDAY, May 9


Happy Mother’s Day / Mothering Sunday!

This is celebrated in many countries.


THURSDAY, May 13


Using Design Thinking to Develop Worship in this New Era
Thursday, May 13 2021 on Zoom – watch for link
2–4 pm EDT / 6–8 pm GMT

See the first article in this email for more details.


No Prayer Time with the Moderator today.

The Moderator is on leave.


TUESDAY, May 18


TEA Time with theTea Time
Community Development Team 5pm EDT / 9pm GMT

May’s theme: Creation Care

https://zoom.us/j/248584328?pwd=NmRackdTN1luZ2kreHNISFJMWC9TZz09#success

Meeting ID: 248 584 328
Password: 469464


May 18-21


Thriving in MinistryTraining Retreat
for new
Mentors and Mentees
May 18-21, 2021
Thriving in Ministry

This is a grant funded program open only to USA clergy. Clergy and pastoral leaders in MCC are supported by intentional mentoring, educational opportunities, and monthly check-ins to help you Thrive in Ministry!

For more information on this program, contact Marie Tasker, Program Manager at [email protected].


FRIDAY, May 21


ChaplainsChaplain Connection
10am EDT / 2pm GMT

Come, discuss the trials and joys of being a chaplain and the unique perspective you have on ministry in these times. If you have questions please contact Rev Cathy Alexander at [email protected].

Join Zoom Meeting
https://zoom.us/j/97515395940?pwd=czlLTFlSSDdpYTJkcmhZZ0RQS0EvUT09
Meeting ID: 975 1539 5940 Passcode: 890406


SATURDAY,  May 22


Sentieri Gruppo SpiritualeSentieri – Gruppo Spirituale (Footpaths Spiritual Group)
May 22 – 9pm Italy time / 7pm GMT
3pm EDT / 2pm CDT / 12pm PDT

Sentieri è un gruppo spirituale virtuale totalmente inclusivo in lingua italiana. Ci incontriamo una volta al mese su Zoom per confrontarci su diversi temi. Gli incontri sono aperti a chiunque voglia fare un cammino spirituale (in senso lato e non strettamente religioso) insieme ad altre persone, nel rispetto di [email protected] Il prossimo appuntamento: sarà Il 22 May 2021 alle ore 21.00. Se sei [email protected] invia una mail a [email protected] per ricevere il link di accesso all’incontro.


MONDAY, May 24


Chaplain ConnectionChaplains
5pm EDT / 9pm GMT

Contact Rev Cathy Alexander at [email protected] with any questions about this meeting.

Join Zoom Meeting
https://zoom.us/j/97515395940?pwd=czlLTFlSSDdpYTJkcmhZZ0RQS0EvUT09
Meeting ID: 975 1539 5940 Passcode: 890406


WEEKLY EVENTS


MONDAYS


CHRISTIANS & COCKTAILS
Every Monday at 6pm EDT / 11pm GMT

Live on Facebook.com/SunshineCathedral

Christians & Cocktails is a fun program that offers connection, religious education, and even pastoral care. A diverse panel discusses a seemingly endless array of religious and spiritual topics that are raised from panelists and viewers alike.

No question is off limits and you may hear viewpoints you’ve never heard or considered before. Rev. Durrell Watkins responds to the questions and then invites other panelists to share their insights. The conversation is rich, honest, courageous, sometimes irreverent, and always a lot of fun.


TUESDAYS


SanctuaryOnline May


THURSDAYS


Rev. Elder Cecilia Eggleston headshotPrayer Time with the Moderator

5:15pm EDT / 10:15pm GMT

No Prayer Time May 6 or May 13

https://www.facebook.com/RevElderCeciliaEggleston

Join the Moderator for a time of reflection and prayer on Facebook Live.


Alabanza Joy MCCBilingual Praise Gathering – Thursdays at 7 pm EDT/11 pm GMT

hosted by Joy MCC, Orlando, Florida, USA

https://zoom.us/j/827025531#success


LOOKING FORWARD


Transitioning in Faith
Tuesday, June 8th
7:30pm EDT / 11:30pm GMT

Facilitated by Rev. Elder Goudy, there will be a panel of transgender individuals discussing the opportunities and challenges they faced as they spoke their truth in their church, synagogue or faith community. This event is sponsored by the Pennsylvania Trans Equity Project. Register for the event at this link: https://us02web.zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_RllIkGTjR6mR8dZIbToX2w


SUPPORT MCC


Metropolitan Community Churches and ShopRaise

https://shopraise.com/app/#/?orgId=587533
Your shopping for the holidays or anytime can benefit MCC! ShopRaise works with charitable organizations to provide supporters a simple way to shop and benefit their cause.

  • Use the ShopRaise app to shop at home and on the go
  • You don’t pay more and can still use great coupons and deals
  • MCC Earns
  • Over 1,000 familiar retailers

Please Share or LINK with our Website

We're Seeking You

Click on the link below to visit a landing page designed exclusively for you. It is your unique starting point to explore the “We’re Seeking You!” website and it contains all the information and links you may need.

https://visitmccchurch.com/announcement/

Please join us in helping the world to hear these three simple, yet powerful, words from MCC….We’re Seeking You!


OUR MAILING ADDRESS


Please share with your Treasurer and Clerk of the Board
2775 NW 49th Ave. Ste: 205-327
Ocala, FL 34482
USA