CONNECT with what’s happening around Metropolitan Community Church

people holding handsWhat’s Happening at Your Church?

Send news of your March online events that are open beyond your congregation to [email protected]
Share your Good News stories too and your ideas or new resources.
Thank you for helping CONNECT MCC!


Don’t Miss A Thing

1) Clocks are still Changing – The UK is now on Daylight Saving Time. Parts of the Southern Hemisphere go to Standard Time on April 4th. During these next few weeks, use a world clock converter and check event times and local times carefully.
2) “View Entire Message” – Be sure to click on this small print message if your CONNECT email seems to end abruptly. We don’t want you to miss anything.


USA – Board of Pensions Reminder

As you file your first quarter report, remember the new rate that began in January 2021 of $1.75 per member per month. New forms are on the website.
https://www.mccchurch.org/how-we-work/board-of-pensions/
Questions about Pension contributions may be sent to [email protected]


MCC Clergy

Please note, during 2021 you will be required to have at least 2 CEU hours devoted to anti-racism, anti-oppression, or anti-colonialism. This will be reported on your 2022 license renewal form. If you have questions if a course is acceptable, please be in contact with the Vocational Leadership Coordinator, Rev Cathy Alexander at [email protected].


TUESDAY, March 30


Sanctuary Online invites you to an Online SederSeder Meal Hosted Sanctuary

We will share the readings and prayers together in community. After our online session, we will each individually plan and partake in our own meal. If you plan to join, please request the Sanctuary Haggadah so you can follow along and participate in the places where we all read together.

Email us at
[email protected]

If you prefer to simply listen to the readings, you do not need anything else!
Join us at 5pm Pacific / 6pm Mountain / 7pm Central / 8pm Eastern

Sanctuary’s Zoom Room: www.SanctuaryOnline.live


WEDNESDAY, March 31


2021 Transgender Day


Online Transgender Day of Visibility Panel
Wednesday, March 31 @ 7pm EDT

Join Eastern Pennsylvania (USA) Trans Equity Project and a panel of transgender, gender non-binary people and parents of trans* kids as they discuss their experiences and answer questions live on ZOOM and Facebook. Moderated by Rev. Elder Goudy. Click the link to register and have your questions answered: https://us02web.zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_YJPfEZk0S2eZoU4umGVjwA


SATURDAY, April 3


Holy SaturdayHoly Saturday Concert
EASTER Concert

Worship and celebrate with music from various MCC musicians including many new artists. The music will carry you from Good Friday into the Easter celebration.

Check your time zone carefully! Some of us recently went to Daylight Saving Time and others change clocks on Sunday, April 4th to Standard Time and some to Daylight Saving Time.

Please share this with your congregation, family and friends!
There are four concert times to choose from.
https://www.youtube.com/c/MetropolitanCommunityChurches/videos

CONCERT ONE – 10am GMT/UTC – 9 PM Sydney, 8 PM Brisbane, 6 pm Kuala Lumpur, 7 PM Tokyo – 6 AM Eastern

CONCERT TWO – 6pm GMT/UTC – 8 PM Johannesburg, 8 PM Frankfurt, 7 PM London, 7 PM Glasgow – 2 PM Eastern

CONCERT THREE – midnight GMT,/UTC – 8 PM Eastern, 7 PM Central

CONCERT FOUR – 10 PM Eastern, 9 PM Central, 8 PM Mountain, 7 PM Pacific, (2 PM NZST Wellington NZ, 5 PM Hawaii Daylight Time, 2am GMT on Sunday 04/04/21)


WEEKLY EVENTS



MONDAYS


CHRISTIANS & COCKTAILS
Every Monday at 6pm EDT / 11pm GMT

Live on Facebook.com/SunshineCathedral

Christians & Cocktails is a fun program that offers connection, religious education, and even pastoral care. A diverse panel discusses a seemingly endless array of religious and spiritual topics that are raised from panelists and viewers alike. Representing the rainbow diversity of our broad commiunity, our C&C panel includes:
7 gay identified people, 1 bisexual, and 1 heterosexual,
5 women & 4 men,
5 caucasians, 3 Latinx, and 1 African American,
5 clergy & 4 lay persons,
3 people living with HIV,
and the panelists range in age from mid-30s to early 70s.

No question is off limits and you may hear viewpoints you’ve never heard or considered before. Rev. Durrell Watkins responds to the questions and then invites other panelists to share their insights. The conversation is rich, honest, courageous, sometimes irreverent, and always a lot of fun.


THURSDAYS


Rev. Elder Cecilia Eggleston headshotPrayer Time with the Moderator

EVERY THURSDAY

5:15pm EDT / 10:15pm GMT

https://www.facebook.com/RevElderCeciliaEggleston

Join the Moderator for a time of reflection and prayer on Facebook Live.


Alabanza Joy MCCJoy MCC, Orlando, Florida, USA https://zoom.us/j/827025531#success


LOOKING AHEAD


TEA TIME with the Community Development Team – Tuesday, April 20th – 5pm EDT/ 9pm GMT


EARTH DAY2021 Earth Day
Thursday, April 22nd

https://www.earthday.org/toolkit-earth-day-2021-restore-our-earth/

What action projects might your church take this year to celebrate and care for the Earth?


Chaplain’s Calls – Next Connection times – April 23 – 10am EDT / 2pm GMT and April 26 – 5pm EDT / 9pm GMT


Thriving in MinistryTraining Retreat for new Mentors and Mentees
May 18-21, 2021
Thriving in Ministry

This is a grant funded program open only to USA clergy. Clergy and pastoral leaders in MCC are supported by intentional mentoring, educational opportunities, and monthly check-ins to help you Thrive in Ministry!
For more information on this program, contact Marie Tasker, Program Manager at [email protected].


NOTEWORTHY ITEMS


LGBTQ Friendly Grief & Loss Online Support Group

Rev. Daniel J Borysewicz and Vitas East Bay Grief Support
An open grief support group for anyone who is dealing with the loss of a loved one, partner, family member or close friend. The group is free of charge & open to people of all ages, ethnicities, and gender presentation. Lead by culturally competent, experienced bereavement support counselors.
Doors open at 5:55pm PDT / 8:55 EDT https://fb.me/e/3P32o4JPx


Queering CPE

Looking for access to CPE? Consider online units with a queer MCC Certified ACPE Educator. Reverend Jennifer “jc” Hall, partnered with the Ecumenical Institute for CPE, is now offering 2021 spring, summer, and fall online CPE units. You may use your existing ministry context for clinical hours, add some clinical experience in a different location, or we will design something to fit your needs.

Questions? Let’s be in contact at [email protected]. For additional information visit https://acpe.edu/career/ecumenical-institute-for-clinical-pastoral-education

The Ecumenical Institute is accredited to offer Level I and Level II CPE by the Association of Clinical Pastoral Education


Metropolitan Community Churches and ShopRaise

https://shopraise.com/app/#/?orgId=587533
Your shopping for the holidays or anytime can benefit MCC! ShopRaise works with charitable organizations to provide supporters a simple way to shop and benefit their cause.

  • Use the ShopRaise app to shop at home and on the go
  • You don’t pay more and can still use great coupons and deals
  • MCC Earns
  • Over 1,000 familiar retailers

Have you visited the new VISITOR website yet?

Have you shared it on your social media?

We're Seeking You

Click on the link below to visit a landing page designed exclusively for you. It is your unique starting point to explore the “We’re Seeking You!” website and it contains all the information and links you may need.

https://visitmccchurch.com/announcement/

Please join us in helping the world to hear these three simple, yet powerful, words from MCC….We’re Seeking You!


OUR MAILING ADDRESS


Please share with your Treasurer and Clerk of the Board
2775 NW 49th Ave. Ste: 205-327
Ocala, FL 34482
USA